All Events and Concerts


“Unravel” it’s a unique project that combines music and visual art.
Created and executed by Mariya Medvedeva, this project represents the effects of music on
perception and the artist’s inner imagination visualized onto canvas.

Part one: Unravel the artist’s vision of the present moment.
Inspired by the music performance Mariya created a series of portraits of the musicians on stage, capturing the present moment. The audience will experience simultaneously live Interaction between the musicians on stage, their music and presence around and how they become part of art.
A string quartet performs music by Massenet, Debussy, Faure and Saint-Saens.

Part two: Unravel the creator’s vision.
The Musicians of the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra perform “Mother Goose” suite by Maurice Ravel simultaneously with the visual range created by Mariya Medvedeva.
Maurice Ravel wrote his music based on children’s fairy tales by Charles Perrault, Marie-Catherine, Madame d’Aulnoy, and Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont. The music inspired Mariya to create a cycle of art works. The art works present her embedded adult vision of the magical characters from these fairy tales and her visual interpretation of this beautiful classical music.


Aura Lorena Manescu, violin
Mariya Medvedeva, violin
Andrea Mereuta, viola
Hassan Moataz El Molla, cello
Matteo Gaspari, double bass
Aleksandr Haskin, flute
Mohamed Ibrahim Saleh, oboe
Rony Moser, clarinet
Daniel Hrinda, bassoon
Gideon Seidenberg, horn
Alexander Kamenarov, timpani



Part 1
Massenet – “Meditation” (from the opera “Thaïs”)
Debussy – “Moonlight” (“Claire de lune”)
Faure – “After a dream” (“Apres un reve”)
Camille Saint-Saens – “The Swan”

Part 2
Maurice Ravel – Mother Goose Suite
Suite 1 – Pavane of the Sleeping Beauty
Suite 2 – Tom Thumb
Suite 3 – Little Ugly Girl,Empress of the Pagodas
Suite 4 – Conversation of Beauty and the Beast
Suite 5 – The Fairy Garden


For event registration, please visit Qatar National Library’s website.

May 28, 2022 | 7:30 PM EUROPEAN DAY CONCERT Katara Cultural Village, Opera House

The Philharmonic will celebrate The European Day 2022 with inspiring concert from various European regions, the program includes the most enduring work of Sibelius “Finlandia”, Strauss “On the Beautiful Blue Danube”, Puccini “Manon Lescaut”, Chabrier “España”, Liszt “Hungarian Rhapsody”, You will also enjoy the music of widely known composers like Charpentier, Wagner, Berlioz and Offenbach, all conducted by the Maestro David Niemann.


Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated.



David Niemann, conductor



Marc-Antoine Charpentier:
Te Deum, H.146: Prelude

Emmanuel Chabrier: 

Jean Sibelius: 
Finlandia, Op.26

Richard Wagner: 
Die Meistersinger – Prelude Act I

Johann Strauss, Jr.: 
On the Beautiful Blue Danube, Op. 314

Giacomo Puccini : 
Manon Lescaut, Intermezzo, Act III

Franz Liszt: 
Hungarian Rhapsody

Hector Berlioz: 
Rob Roy

Jacques Offenbach: 
Orpheus in the Underworld Overture (Orphée aux enfers)

June 3, 2022 | 7:30 PM THE BEST OF FRANZ LISZT Katara Cultural Village, Opera House

Join The Philharmonic as we look back at Liszt’s best works. The concert will feature Piano Concerto No. 1, a piece so magnificent that it took Liszt over 25 years to complete, as well as Les Préludes, the best known of Liszt’s symphonic poems. This concert is for piano enthusiasts as Liszt was considered the greatest piano virtuoso of his time. János Balázs will perform solo piano and Alastair Willis will conduct.

Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated.


Alastair Willis, conductor
János Balázs, piano



Zoltán Kodály:
Dances of Galánta

Franz Liszt:
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124

Franz Liszt:
Piano Concerto No. 2  in A Major, S. 125

Franz Liszt:
Les Préludes, Symphonic Poem No. 3, S. 97

June 9, 2022 | 7:30 PM CLASSICS OF THE GOLDEN AGE Katara Cultural Village, Opera House

In a joint collaboration between the Qatar Philharmonic and the Music Affairs Center (Ministry of Culture), we would like to welcome you to never before seen concert featuring classics from the golden age of Arabic cinema, as well as music from Qatar with distinguished participation of many young singing talents. performed in an orchestral setting. This concert is not to be missed, and will include music from the greats such as, Umm Kulthum, Fairuz, Faraj Abdul Karim, Mohamed Abdel Wahab, Ali Abdul Sattar and many more.


Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated.



Nayer Nagui, conductor
Nasser Sahim, vocals



Umm Kulthum:
Introduction – One Thousand and One Nights
Zekriat , arranged by Dr. Amer

Farid al-Atrash:
Qalbi W Moftaho

Faraj Abdul Karim:
Asader Lilwarq Hami

A’tani El Nay wa Ghani

Mohamed Fawzi:
Teer Beina

Ali Abdulsatar:

Leila Mourad:
Malish Amal

Mohamed Abdel-Wahab:
Balash Tebosni
Anaa w Azab w Hawak

Abdel Halim Hafez:
Awel Mara Taheb Ya Qalbi


June 18, 2022 | 7:30 PM THE BEST OF BRAHMS Katara Cultural Village, Opera House

Three of the greatest pieces of classical music ever played, the perfect introduction to classical music, join the Philharmonic for a wonderful evening with the Maestro Elias Grandy.

The concert includes one of the great musical expressions of tragedy from the Romantic age “Brahms’ Tragic Overture” and Brahms’ Symphony No.  1. You will listen to Queen Marie Antoinette’s favourite Symphony “Symphony No 85 known as La Reine (The Queen)” by Haydn.


Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated.



Elias Grandy, conductor



Johannes Brahms:
Tragic Overture, Op. 81

Franz Joseph Haydn:
Symphony No.85 in B-flat major (La reine; The Queen of France)

Johannes Brahms:
Symphony No.1 in C-Minor, Op. 68

June 21, 2022 | 7:30 PM CLASSICAL HITS – BRUCH VIOLIN CONCERTO Katara Cultural Village, Opera House

Take Note!

Join Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra for A Classical Hits Evening,

The concert includes one of Mozart’s supreme achievements and one of the greatest operas of all time “Don Giovanni – Overture”.  Also featuring Max Bruch’s most popular violin concertos in solo violin repertoire “Violin Concerto No. 1”, in addition to Beethoven “Symphony No.4”. featuring Joo Young Oh performing solo violin and the renowned Elias Grandy will Conduct.


Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated.



Elias Grandy, conductor
Joo Young Oh, violin



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Don Giovanni: Overture – KV 527

Max Bruch:
Concerto No.1 in G-Minor, Op. 2

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony No.4 in B-Flat Major, Op. 60

June 25, 2022 | 7:30 PM NORTHERN EUROPEAN IMPRESSIONS BY GRIEG AND SIBELIUS Katara Cultural Village, Opera House

Book your ticket for Northern European Impression Concert.

The program includes Sibelius’ most enduring work “Finlandia” the symbol of ending struggle for nationhood, in addition to the universal favorites with its bright and cheery character “Peer Gynt, Suite No 1” by Edvard Grieg. The program ends with the romantic and memorable melodies of Sibelius’ Symphony No.2.

Join the Philharmonic for a memorable evening!


Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated.



Elias Grandy, conductor



Jean Sibelius:
Finlandia, Op.26

Edvard Grieg:
Peer Gynt, Suite No 1, Op.46

Jean Sibelius:
Symphony No.2 in D-Major, Op. 43

Subscribe to our newsletter

Join our subscribers list to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly in your inbox

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap