January 15, 2022 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM Katara Opera House, Katara Cultural Village

The Philharmonic are kicking off the new year with a concert including Liszt’s best works. The concert will feature Piano Concerto No. 1, a piece so magnificent that it took Liszt over 25 years to complete, as well as Les Préludes, the best known of Liszt’s symphonic poems. This concert is for piano enthusiasts as Liszt was considered the greatest piano virtuoso of his time. János Balázs will perform solo piano and Alastair Willis will conduct.


Ticket link will be available shortly.


Please note that attendees will be only admitted if they are fully vaccinated or present a negative rapid antigen test within 72 hours of the concert start time. There will be no intermission.




Alastair Willis, conductor
János Balázs, piano



Franz Liszt:
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major, S. 124
Allegro maestoso
Quasi adagio
Allegretto vivace – Allegro animato
Allegro marziale animato

Franz Liszt:
Piano Concerto No. 2  in A Major, S. 125
Adagio sostenuto assai – Allegro agitato assai
Allegro moderato
Allegro deciso – Marziale un poco meno allegro
Allegro animato

Franz Liszt:
Les Préludes, Symphonic Poem No. 3, S. 97